Mar 222020

Overall 5 out of 5 stars

Audio Performance 5 out of 5 stars

Story 5 out of 5 stars
Reviewed: 11-03-19


I have not been reading books set in the War Between the States from the modern view of authors unwilling to show the reason for the confederacy and true facts of history.

Peterson has written a well-rounded book in this the third in the series. I think everyone should start with this book. It’s the best. The characters are delightful and only a few Historical facts are wrong. The plot is good and only the villain is overdone.

Most of today’s novels write of that war as totally about slavery. They hold a POV either of the entire North (who all supposedly never owned slaves and where each and every person wants to free slaves ) or from the South where each person is an evil slave owner except one. Peterson writes people caught in the middle with questions and regrets. Granted it is in Texas, and Texas had only been a State for a short time. But she shows the heart of each person toward the war, slavery and the Native Americans. Her main mistake was in saying the Emancipation Proclamation freed the slaves. Secretary of State Seward’s own words say no slaves were freed by that document. Of the slaves in 6 union-controlled states were not freed and only the states they had no control over were freed.

Peterson’s point is that of healing and the futility of that horrible war. She creates a wonderful story and slices in God’s redemption.

Raudman did an exceptional narration on the audio book,

 Leave a Reply